Congratulations to the 2018 Culture Works Leonard P. Roberts Scholarship Recipients

Categories: Latest News,News

Every year, Culture Works awards Leonard P. Roberts Scholarships to Dayton Region students who demonstrate outstanding participation in and commitment to the arts.
We received an incredible number of applications from high-achieving high school seniors and college students this year, and we’re excited to announce that the scholarship committee has selected 14 students to receive scholarships for the 2018-2019 academic year.
These 14 awardees demonstrate ingenuity, generosity, and, of course, creativity. From creating an interfaith performing arts group to promote peace and tolerance, to organizing pop-up charity concerts to support music education for elementary students, to beautifying their neighborhoods through public art creation, these students are putting the arts to good work in our community. We congratulate them all on their achievements and look forward to seeing what they do next.

2018 Culture Works Leonard P. Roberts Scholarship Recipients

Jenna Albezreh
Butler HS, ‘18
Harvard University


Joia Allen
Stivers School for the Arts, ‘18
Howard University


Nathan Bain
Beavercreek HS, ‘18
Brigham Young University


James Boezi
Troy HS, ‘18
The Ohio State University


Joseph Caley
Oakwood HS, ‘18
The Ohio State University


Maria Crusey
Oakwood HS, ‘18
Washington University, St. Louis


Margaret Elliott
Kettering Fairmont HS, ‘18
Notre Dame


Laura Gaines
Kettering Fairmont HS, ‘18
The Ohio State University


Zachary Hanna
Oakwood HS, ‘18
Miami University


Jessica Miller
Tippecanoe HS, ‘18
Kent State University


Amalia Petreman
Stivers School for the Arts, ‘18
Bennington College


Nathan Roberts
Dominion Academy, ‘18
Bowling Green State University


Joseph Schlangen
University of Dayton


Cameron Weitz
Carroll HS, ‘18
Mount St. Joseph University


The Culture Works Leonard P. Roberts Scholarship was established in 1993 in honor of Mr. Roberts, a prominent supporter of Dayton’s arts who, at the time of his death, was chairman of the Dayton Performing Arts Fund (now Culture Works).
Dates for the 2019-2020 award cycle will be posted here in the fall.


Author: Culture Works

Leave a Reply